Chef Hoolia

Ok, it may be a little too far fetched to be called a chef at this point, but I am officially going to kick it up a notch in the kitchen. I know, I know, I have said it many times, but the time feels right to up the ante, so to speak, and put my skills to the test!

After I graduated college, I had a crazy idea to race in a triathlon. I had none of the equipment, no idea where to start, but low and behold, I raced in not one, but two races. I then had the idea to pursue photography and by no means am I a photographer, but it has become a fun hobby. I like to take on new challenges and develop new interests, so why I ask is cooking any different? Please, hold the laughs for those who know me well.

I’m already off to a good start. Well, a start 🙂 The other night, I got a vegetable mix, put oil in the frying pan, turned on the burner and swished around the veggies. Let me tell ya, I was on a roll, holding the handle of the pan, pushing the veggies right, left and even flipping them a little until they were perfectly cooked. So while I’m no Wolfgang Puck or even close, ya have to start somewhere and that was my most basic of starts.

Here is a photo of some pasta I made, adding corn, peas and of course, parmesan. Are you getting hungry yet?  Soon enough, I’ll be making dishes where people ask me for the ingredients, ha! A little ambitious, maybe, but ya never know what escapades can happen when I get my mind set on something!

054

4 Responses to Chef Hoolia

  1. casacaudill says:

    Look at you go! I couldn’t even make rice when I first started cooking … I just experimented and tried a ton of recipes and here I am a full blown cook.

    If you’re looking to learn a bit about Spanish cuisine in an easy-to-digest and entertaining way, I suggest you check out the Mario Batali (and Gwenyth Paltrow) show, “Spain … On the Road again.” They took an 8 week trip throughout Spain going to restaurants and cooking up fresh, local cuisine.

  2. erica says:

    homemade dishes and crazy mullets?!? I definitely need to come visit 🙂

  3. Julie Crabill says:

    Nice, Top Chef Barcelona = Hoolia!

  4. Seve says:

    Can’t wait to eat at the Hoolia Cafe

Leave a Reply

