San Sebastian: Not the Mediterranean

All of you failed the test from my last post and thus, you need to brush up on your geography! When I said I would be enjoying more steps in the Mediterranean this past weekend, I was surprised no one mentioned that San Sebastian is NOT on the Mediterranean, rather, it’s on the Atlantic. Got ya (wink wink)!

Friday morning, I ventured back to my second home, the airport, to meet Aren. I think I officially know all the Terminal A staff now 🙂 When Aren came out, I was surprised to see he had been “trying” to grow a beard for 2 months and thus, looked like a lumberjack. But, if he didn’t, there would not have been such a funny joke to carry us through the trip and my mission would not now be to find him a flannel shirt to complete the look. Anyway, we rented a car and off we went on a 6 or so hour drive to San Sebastian.

Aren was the driver and not fully accustomed to driving manual, he was quite proud, as was I, of how well he started off. But no sooner did he praise himself did he stall the car a few times and, inadvertently, crossed an illegal exit line that ultimately got us pulled over. The cop told him how he needs to “respect the line” and with a “lo siento” and “I’m from the US, forgive me” later, we arrived safely.

San Sebastian is a great little town with scenic views and an overall quaint environment. The weather held up for the most part and we were able to enjoy the pinchos, part what San Sebastian is known for, as well as the beach. We even met a couple who is from my hometown in the East Bay, which made me realize how small this world really is. On Sunday, we drove to Pamplona, the city famous for the “running with the bulls” festival. However, given that the festival is not until July, we entertained ourselves by running through Pamplona without the bulls. It was pretty cool to see where that festival takes place though and while reading roughly 4000 cool facts from an iPhone app to keep us awake in the car ride home, we made it safe and sound back to Barcelona, possibly even a little smarter.

Today and tomorrow, Aren will be checking out Barcelona and ya esta (that’s it). We have really enjoyed our time together so now it’s time to enjoy the next few days!

Always one to take advantage of lying by the sea!

Always one to take advantage of lying by the sea!

As well as a beer and pinchos!

As well as a beer and pinchos!

Aren actually swam in the water for a second

Aren actually swam in the water for a second

Whereas I did not, instead, I just waded as always!

Whereas I did not, instead, I just waded as always!

Running without the bulls (and without all the people for that matter)

Running without the bulls (and without all the people for that matter)

Let's go toros, let's go!

Let's go toros, let's go!

3 Responses to San Sebastian: Not the Mediterranean

  1. Hi Julie,
    Sounds like you had another memorable trip. Great photos too. We miss you.
    Love, Uncle Chuck

  2. casacaudill says:

    san sebastian is definitely one of the places i want to hit up when we manage to make it to spain (maybe 2011).

  3. […] into his vacation, which means, I get another visitor! More so, I get to say hi to my buddies in Terminal A at the […]

Leave a Reply

