R.I.P. Sandwiches

I’m throwing in the towel and saying goodbye to sandwiches forever! Ok, maybe not forever, but at least for a while because I think if I eat another one, I’ll become one 🙂

What is the appeal to a sandwich anyway? It’s easy to make, sure, but here, the sandwiches are literally just the meat with a tomato spread (and maybe cheese). I have never seen a sandwich with all the fixings I grew up eating, like pickles, onions, lettuce, jalapenos,  etc. yet, all the restaurants and cafes here advertise their sandwiches as if they really differ from one another. Now, I don’t want to be too negative because I have sure bought my fair share of them and I have liked them a lot, but I am burned out for the moment and need to start searching for lunch alternatives.

Point in case…the other day, as I was walking out the door to a class, I thought I should bring my lunch, aka a sandwich, with me. But even though I went to the market last week and bought three types of sandwich meats to regain my enthusiasm, I really didn’t look forward to making another sandwich that day, or the day after, or the day after. And so, I didn’t. And, because I never really know what else to make or bring, I end up buying something in a cafe and by default, it tends to be…you guessed it…a sandwich! Ay yi yi.

Starting now, I am retiring sandwiches from my life. Done and done. But, like all good athletes who once retire and then make a comeback (Lance Armstrong and Michael Jordan for example), I have a sneaking feeling the same will happen with sandwiches!

If it doesn't look like this, I'm not eating it!

If it doesn't look like this, I'm not eating it!

Leave a Reply

