Signing Off!

This post marks #227. And 227 blog posts later, I sit here reflecting on all I have captured via THB and all I have experienced. My heart is racing, I’m smiling, I’m crying, I’m nostalgic, I’m sad, I’m excited, etc. What can I say? Believe it or not, I feel a bit stumped for words.

Now, I don’t want to be a drama queen or anything, but I do always write from my heart and it’s a bit overwhelming to be putting the lights out on my “baby.” What started as one of my random ideas turned into something that helped me stay connected in a really fun way with those from home, as well as capture all the craziness of an American girl living a Spanish life.

Speaking of craziness, I compiled my own superlatives for the last post to really put a stamp on what the experience has meant to me. While I’m coming back for year two, forever and always, year one will be incredibly memorable.

Favorite restaurant: Kibuka (I’m sure no one is surprised that a Spanish restaurant is not my favorite!)

Favorite street: Calle Verdi (in my neighborhood, Gracia, and so full of charm)

Best friend: Jos

Favorite tapa: Patatas Bravas (potatoes with a Thousand Island-like dressing) or Pimientos de Padron (a variety of green peppers, steamed and salted)

Best day: My birthday celebration, June 5

Worst day: I can’t remember, good thing!

Most surprising: No matter how homesick or sad I felt at any given point, I never said, even in frustration, “I’m done. I’m coming home.”

Most rewarding: Not having a single student quit lessons based on my performance

Most disappointing: Losing touch with people from home and feeling like “out of sight, out of mind”

Best trip: As I wrote in “These are the Moments,” it’s too hard to pick just one, though Ibiza always pops up as top of mind.

Favorite Spanish holiday: Dia de St. Jordi. I don’t really know why I liked it so much, but I like the idea that everyone can enjoy it, young or old, married or not.

Best at keeping in touch: Dylan! It has been great chatting with Leah and Adam’s 2 year old son almost twice a week, watching him grow right before my eyes. Even the times when he says, “Mommy, stop talking to Hoolia” makes me laugh.

Favorite plaza: Again, staying local to my neighborhood, it’s the one I have spent the most time in, Plaza de Vila de Gracia, formerly known as Plaza Rius i Taulet and also known as, “The clocktower plaza.”

Favorite Spanish beer: Estrella (light, fresh and crisp)

Favorite bar: L’Ascensor in Barrio Gotico.

Favorite European sports team: Barca, duh!

Favorite language: Spanglish (I’ve perfected it!)

Favorite metro line: The green line (for no particular reason, I guess I just like the stops and the color)

Favorite student: Neus

So with that folks (and a few of my favorite pictures below), I am signing off, with a chill down my spine and goose bumps (or chicken skin as the Spaniards say). Thanks for following the first year’s journey. I can only hope my second year here will be just as full of adventure! Lots of love, hugs and kisses!

Hoolia

027

The most consistent friends (Joe, Lisa and Jos not pictured)

022

Wendz, Jos and I at my birthday party

063

The Ibiza team, minus Isaac and Camilo

George and I, Barca game

My brother and I at the Barca game

One Response to Signing Off!

  1. Seve says:

    I will miss your blogs.

Leave a Reply

